Family Circle 14

A family history site: Chasing My Own Tale

Tomorrow is “HAPPY APRIL FISH DAY!” (pt 1)

‘Le Poissons D’Avril’ is France’s version of April’s Fools Day and lasts all day. French children tape paper fish to their friends’ backs and when the young “fool” finds out, the person shouts “Poisson d’Avril!”

What does this have to do with my family history, unless we go back long before the 1700’s? Well, I was chatting with my sister the other day. As I was surfing the net for the name of a cousin that was listed in Cattle Branding books of Louisiana, I came across something that caught my eye. It wasn’t until I had read several paragraphs of the website, when I realized I had previously read the very same article. It had been published in 1999 in the Houma Courier for the “Congres Mondial Acadien”.

That event was memorable to me and to the many others who attended. I met many now-well-known genealogy buffs, such as Steven White, Tim Hebert, Shirley T LeBlanc, and many, many others.  I remember how badly I wanted to share my experiences with my family, yet most were not interested.

That Christmas, thanks to my husband’s generosity and patience, every single adult family member received one or two 4” 3-ring binders filled with data I had gathered over 26 years. Those were the days of pouring over microfiche, microfilm, and handwritten ledgers with my mother’s help.

(As virtually everyone in my line originated from the 3,000 Acadians from Nova Scotia, eventually, our lines duplicate – sometimes many times over. For example, the program I used at the time listed me as being related to my maternal grandfather 17 ways!)

It wasn’t until years later that my sister was bit by the genealogy bug, but only after I had become too ill to participate. Happily, I can say now that we share this love of seeking our history together. In many ways, she has corrected some of the major flaws that inevitably crept in and we are working hard together.

 

Back to the story:

The published document turned out to be part of a transcription that was written around 1901 which described the memories of a Cajun in the 1840’s. In 1926, the original document was donated to the Louisiana State Museum by the estate of Judge Joseph Arsenne Breaux.

 

Satellite image of Nova Scotia and surrounding...

Satellite image of Nova Scotia and surrounding islands. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

More of this Story Tomorrow

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

